Namas Day

A few Saturdays ago I attended Namas Day in Philly. It’s a full day yoga workshop where you sign up for 4 different classes. Each one was an hour and half. That’s 6 hours of yoga- holy cow, was my body tired after or what! It was an amazing experience and I’m so glad I attended and exposed myself to a few different types of yoga that I’m not used to. I will say, however, that this event was definitely not for beginners, and I felt a little out of my element as most of the people around me were seasoned yogi’s. Despite that, I enjoyed the challenge of trying new poses and not settling into my safe place and only doing what I felt certain I could master.

The most interesting class I took was called “The Dance of Bliss” led by Kelly Kamm. It totally changed the way I view yoga. She told the story of Shiva, the god of destruction, and the importance of falling and failing before moving forward. The story told us to embrace the fall, lean into it, learn from it, and accept it with grace.

I left there that day feeling inspired to do yoga everyday and meditate until it becomes natural.

Leave a Reply

