What’s Cookin’?

Hey ya’ll!

I’ve been making a lot of new recipes lately- I’m not sure why, I suppose you could say that inspiration has struck! Or perhaps, more likely, it’s my fear of boredom during lunch. I’ve been trying to keep things new and interesting in the hopes that I won’t overeat as I’m typically prone to do! I thought I would share some of what I’ve been making… cauliflower fried rice, coconut blueberry oat squares, and baked crabcakes! I find most of my recipes online, and will give those author’s credit, as well as explaining the changes I made!

Cauliflower Fried Rice from Skinnytaste

  • Pulse about 1/2 a cauliflower head in a food processor until it is a rice-like size.
  • Heat a large pan, spray with olive oil, and cook egg mixture (2 egg whites & 1 large egg, beaten). Set aside. (note: the original recipe used sesame oil)
  • Saute 1/2 onion, 4-6 scallion whites, 2 minced garlic cloves, and any frozen veggie mix
  • Add cauliflower and cook for another 5-6 minutes, stirring and spraying with Amino Acids (in place of soy sauce- which is used in original recipe)
  • Remove from heat, add egg back, and greens from scallions.


Coconut Blueberry Oat Squares from A Saucy Kitchen

  • Preheat oven to 350°F
  • Beat 4 large eggs in a large bowl.
  • Add 1/4 cup maple syrup (or honey!), 1/4 cup melted coconut oil, and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Beat until smooth
  • Add 1 cup shredded coconut, 1 cup oats, 3 tbsp coconut flour, and 1/2 tsp salt.
  • Finally- the blueberries! Gently add in about 3/4 cup, folding the mixture instead of stirring.
  • Bake for about 40 minutes, or until it starts to become golden on top.
  • Once completely cooled, top with glaze (1 cup powdered sugar mixed with 1 tbsp lemon juice) and enjoy!


Crabcakes from The Chew

  • Preheat oven at 350°F
  • Mix together the following ingredients:
    • 1/2 lb lump crab
    • scallions (greens only)
    • lemon or lime zest (I used lemon only because there were no limes. The next time I make this, I will use lime!)
  • In a separate bowl, combine 6 tbsp mayo and 1 egg
  • Gently add the mayo and egg to the original bowl
  • Create small cakes and put on a tray (note: the original recipe suggests to put in the fridge for at least an hour, but I did not and it was fine- however, if you were planning to grill it or flip them in the cooking process, I would not ignore that step)
  • Spray with olive oil, and bake for 30 minutes
  • Broil on high for about 5 minutes, or until lightly brown/crispy on top
  • Sauce for the crabcakes: 6 tbsp mayo, 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning, 3 tsp lemon or lime juice, a few dashes of hot sauce (personal preference)

What have you been cooking lately? Let me know in the comments!

-Kass<3xo

Leave a Reply

