Typing As Fast As I Can!

Yesterday was a perfect magnificent Saturday spent doing one thing I love and one thing I hate: reading and cleaning. Although I’m currently in the middle of Hollow City, I put it on pause to read Lauren Graham’s new book: Talking As Fast As I Can. And let me tell you- it was incredible! She writes from the heart and tells her story with humor, honesty, and humility. It was like 200 pages of: “Stars- they’re just like us!”

I couldn’t help but feel a pang of sadness to read the words “President Hillary Clinton,” which she admitted she was guessing about since she wrote that part in March. It was just one more reminder of how close we were to getting a woman in office. And in the face of uncertainty about healthcare, it was especially painful. And when she discussed Carrie Fisher as her inspiration and talked about her with love, I felt another pang of sadness, knowing she is no longer with us.

So there you have it: humor, normality, and sadness. But wait! She also added in quite a bit of wisdom! So, instead of gushing about how amazing she and the book are (because if you’re a fan- you know, and if you’re not- watch Gilmore Girls OR Parenthood, whichever suits you) I thought it’d be more fun to just relay some of that wisdom!

On planning, she writes: “I still find that, in general, having a plan is, well, a good plan. But when my carefully laid plan laughed at me, rather than clutch at it too tightly I just made a new one, even if it was one that didn’t immediately make sense” (23-24).

On letting go: “The me of today often reads scripts I don’t connect with, and I’ve learned not to worry about it too much. If a story doesn’t resonate with me- even if it’s a really good one, even if it’s one I wish I could be part of- I just have to accept that I probably wouldn’t be as compelling as someone else could be in the role. And it’s become fairly easy to let them go” (37).

On being fine on your own: “I was fine on my own, and so are you. But it can be hard when you feel ready for Happy Couplehood and you seem to have missed the train” (100).

On being imperfect: “I had to get out of my own way. It wasn’t that the voice in my head- the one telling me my pages weren’t good enough- went away, exactly. I just didn’t let it stop me. An important tool against self-doubt is just to ignore it. Forge ahead anyway” (135).

On empowering other women: “Let’s keep lifting each other up. It’s not lost on me that two of the biggest opportunities I’ve had to break into the next level were given to me by successful women in positions of power” (139).

Plus, the last chapter about returning to Gilmore Girls after all those years was all about gratitude and letting your emotions have their moment. She cried nearly every day about being on set and getting a second chance to be surrounded by familiar places and people and reading the Palladino’s words. It was sweet and reassuring.

And not to mention, her hilarious discussion of dieting and health and the reality that there’s no secret but to eat well and exercise!

Overall, her story was delightful, as is she as a human being. Let me know in the comments if you’ve read this, love Lauren Graham, or have any other memoir-type book recommendations!

-Kass<3xo

Leave a Reply

