2016 Reflection

Happy New Year’s Eve! I remembered answering some reflection questions for 2015 last year, so I thought I’d continue that tradition for 2016! Reflection is such an important part of my career that practicing it is a necessary part of life. Hope you enjoy my answers- feel free to steal it for yourself!

1. If you could look back on one memory from last year that you wish you could relive, what would it be?

One?? There’s way too many! This year I traveled to India for 2 weeks, student taught, graduated college, was the maid of honor in my cousin’s wedding, watched my boyfriend’s sister get engaged, and got a teaching job! I guess if I had to relive one, it would be the wedding, it was beautiful and I cried the whole time. Alyssa and Mike share a strong love that is admirable and adorable.

2. What was one new years resolution that you accomplished?

I accomplished reading 15 books and it was made better by starting a book club with my English-major friends from Rowan after graduation!

3. 3 words to describe last year?

Family. Success. Unpredictable.

4. Something your looking forward to this coming year?

I’m looking forward to being a bridesmaid in Gina & Ben’s wedding, finishing my first year of teaching, and setting & reaching new goals!

5. What did last year teach you?

It taught me to keep my beliefs and my family separate. We disagree on most societal issues, and I need to find a way to reconcile both of them.

6. What was your most worn clothing item of last year?

Probably leggings- they’re a classic!

7. If you had to sum up your year in one word, what would it be?

Growth.

8. What are you hoping for more of this coming year?

I am hoping for more time well-spent and organization.

9. What are you hoping for less of this coming year?

I am hoping for less stress and sugar.

10. Best book you read last year?

My number one would definitely have to be Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie- it was wonderfully written, challenged perspectives, and I believe it will have a place in literary greatness. However, close seconds were Room by Emma Donoghue and Hope: A Memoir of Survival in Cleveland by Amanda Berry and Gina DeJesus. They were both extremely powerful.

11. What is your New Year’s resolution for the upcoming year?

I’m using the Day Designer’s HEART goals to set some for myself and to maintain balance, but if I had to choose one, it would be to re-dedicate myself to blogging about once a week!

Looking forward to reading some of your answers to these questions!

Leave a Reply

