Time Flies…

Wow! I can’t believe it’s already mid-February! Time has really gotten away from me now that I’m student teaching. My days are all jam-packed- I feel like I never stop!

Student teaching is one of the best things that I’ve ever experienced. My cooperating teacher and I get along so well, it almost feels too good to be true. I never feel like I’m at work when I’m there. My students are amazing! They are sweet and thoughtful and work hard when asked to. I’m taking over the class in a couple of weeks, and I just know that they won’t give me any trouble. I feel confident and ready for this, and I think part of that confidence comes from knowing I have great students in my classes. I teach my first official lesson tomorrow. It’s on the Journey of the Hero. I’m using Finding Nemo to illustrate the stages and then having them do a creative activity. I’m really excited for it, I hope they like it and are engaged. I want to prove that my ideas are practical and beneficial for a classroom.

I finalized my lesson plans for the Odyssey this weekend, and I feel great about it. I know there will probably be some bumps in the road, but hopefully I’ll learn from them. It’s also nice to know that I have two classes each day learning the same thing, so I’ll have opportunities to change my plans and see how different activities affect the classroom!

I know it won’t always be wonderful and that I’ll be fairly exhausted pretty soon, but I truly am looking forward to the rest of this experience, and I’m hopeful that at the end of it I’ll get a job at an amazing school district and have a classroom of my own!

What’s your best advice for a future teacher?

Leave a Reply

