Snow Day Smells

You were sweating earlier,

Scraping and pushing and lifting to clear our driveway

of the snow that covered it overnight, while we were asleep

and tangled up in the sheets, together.

It smells salty and moist and

since my head is resting on your shoulder

I can’t help but breathe it in.

And even though I much prefer the scent of your

cologne, or even your shampoo,

this smell doesn’t make me wrinkle my nose.

Because, if I’m being honest, it smells like

safety, love, and trust.

And most of all, like home.

Leave a Reply

