Midsummer Reflections

Good Morning!

I have had a wonderful, wonderful week off of work. I have taken time for myself that hasn’t happened in a very long time. I updated all my pictures on Facebook, got a pedicure, hit the beach (twice!), did the bills, went to the doctor for a check-up, made homemade salsa, enjoyed my pool, went back to yoga (and did my first assisted headstand!), started a 10K training plan (courtesy of Women’s Health magazine and my somewhat unhealthy magazine addiction), and set some goals. I couldn’t be feeling more at peace with myself. This week has given me a calm mindset that allowed me to refocus on what’s most important to me and prepare myself to finish the summer strong!

It hasn’t all been wonderful, however. My cousin and best friend moved to Texas to be with her fiance on Monday. I am very excited for her to start her new life (especially since she already got a job offer, and is getting a puppy tomorrow), but I couldn’t help but cry at my own loss. It’s sad to think our kids will never grow up together and that from now on (except weddings), all of life’s major milestones will be celebrated separately. She won’t be there when I turn 21, and I won’t be there when she finds out she’s pregnant (that won’t be for years, but still!). It’s hard to be excited and sad at the same time, but at the end of the day, this is what’s best for her and I just have to accept that. It won’t be easy, but there’s nothing I can do to change it.

Amidst all the sadness and relaxation, I have set a few goals for myself, including deciding that I want to learn how to cook Asian cuisines! For whatever reason, I want to try Thai food first- so if anyone has any beginner recipes to share, that would be a great help!

Leave a Reply

