Take a Break!

IMG_6073

I’ve had the past few days off of work due to an unexpected sprained ankle, and I’ve taken that time to sit by the pool and relax- something I’ve been missing this summer. It almost made me feel like I sprained my ankle because I’ve been working so much and my body demanded that I get some good quality rest! I work two jobs and it’s difficult because I like both for different reasons, and neither is full-time, so for most of the summer I really needed both. However, I was promoted at one job recently, so I put in my two weeks at the other one. I’m a little sad to be leaving, but relieved that I’ll only be working Monday-Friday at fairly normal hours. I just read this great article in Women’s Health about “CCD” which is basically OCD, but about your career. I realize that a summer job does not qualify as a career, but I definitely learned an important lesson from it: my best work will not be produced if I am constantly being spread thin and saying yes to every project I am asked about. Yes, I usually get it all done, but why am I constantly killing myself to complete my endless “To-Do” List? It’s something I will definitely keep in mind for my final year of college. Take some time for yourself! Here’s a little takeaway for you to think about as well:

IMG_6069

So, with these days off, I feel totally at peace and my body has fallen into a natural rhythm of sleep (which will most definitely be disturbed tomorrow when work starts back up). I’ve been eating fairly healthy as well! Pictured below: Friday’s lunch of tomato slices (not from my garden- yet!), cottage cheese, and a whole wheat waffle PB&J! Also, Saturday’s lunch of orange slices, almonds, and brazil nuts. In the first picture, you can see that I have blueberries and mint leaves in my water- and it’s delicious!

IMG_6076  IMG_6097

Since I discovered that I have high cholesterol, I have really been making an effort to eat less dairy, bread/carbs, fats- except those found in nuts and other healthy sources of fat, and processed foods with a lot of sugar. Basically, it’s all about eating as simple as possible. Fruits, veggies, green tea, and water! Since I’m at home for the summer and my mom is doing most of the cooking- I don’t have too much control over the protein, so what I should be eating is fish and chicken. How can I resist when my mom breaks out the steak?! I just can’t, there’s no way. That being said, this has been a huge wake-up call for me. I knew I needed to get my health in order, but I didn’t realize how bad it was or much my weight gain was affecting my body. There’s no reason for me to have high cholesterol at this point in my life, so I need to turn it around before I end up with my own TV show on TLC. I’m not super worried right now because I know I can do it (and it’s not that much higher than normal), but in 20 years when I have kids, I want to be able to enjoy my life with them, not worry about heart disease. I hope you all have a restful, relaxing, and restorative Sunday.

You are the wind, the flood, and the flame. Nothing can get in your way. You are the wind, the flood, and the flame. You are the only thing in your way.

Leave a Reply

