Water(melon) Buffalo

Hey ya’ll!

This week I did some experimental cooking and used some ingredients I don’t typically used, and I wanted to share my results with you all!

First, I made a Watermelon Argula Salad that I watched Barefoot Contessa make on TV while I was at the dentist. I must say, it’s definitely a lot of different flavors going on and I’m still not sure how much arugula I could eat at once. However, I found it very refreshing and it was delicious to have on the side! Without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients for the Salad: 3 cups baby arugula, 1/8th watermelon cut in 1 inch cubes, 12 ounces Feta cheese 1/2 inch diced, 1 cup mint leaves, and the vinaigrette.

Ingredients for the Vinaigrette: 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice, 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice, 1/4 cup minced shallots, 1 tablespoon honey, 1/2 cup olive oil, salt and pepper.

Whisk the vinaigretteĀ ingredients and mix all the ingredients for the salad together!

Then, I made a Buffalo Chicken Quinoa Salad that I found on pinterest! It was surprisingly easy and delicious! My brother and my boyfriend both raved about it, so I know I’ll be making it again! I really like working with quinoa and finding a recipe that is healthy but with all the deliciousness that you’d want to find in a cheat meal! Hope you find it yummy as well! Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients: 1 cup quinoa, 2 cups water (or chicken broth- that’s what I like to use with my quinoa for better flavor!), 3/4 pound boneless skinless chicken breast cut into bite size pieces, 1 cup broccoli, 3/4 cup shredded carrots, 3/4 cup shredded cabbage, 1/2 blue cheese crumbles (plus more for garnish), 4 green onions chopped- save half for garnish, 1/3 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup hot sauce.

Directions:

Cook quinoa as directed on package.

While the quinoa is cooking, make the sauce (combine olive oil and hot sauce).

Cook the broccoli in a pan with oil for about five minutes (softened, but crisp), remove from pan and set aside. Cook the chicken in the same pan until cooked through (about 5 minutes), then add about 1/4 cup of the sauce until the chicken absorbs it.

Once the quinoa is ready, add the broccoli, chicken, carrots, cabbage, the dressing, blue cheese, and green onions.

Enjoy!

If you have any questions about either recipe, feel free to comment!

Leave a Reply

