English Seminar I Books

Since I have devoted a few hours to reading today, I thought it might be fitting for me to catch you all up on what I read during the semester. I took my first Seminar for my English program, and the theme was post-colonial modernism. I loved it. The books were challenging, classic, and thought-provoking. I definitely see myself rereading those beauties in the future for further understanding. I wish that the next Seminar class I take could have the same theme, but unfortunately it cannot.

The books we read this semester were: Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce, Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, Good Morning, Midnight by Jean Rhys, Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe, A Bend in the River by V.S. Naipaul, and Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie.

Each one was wonderful, heart-wrenching, and disturbing in it’s own beautiful way. I have grown to both love and hate stream-of-consciousness as it is difficult yet unique for every author and every work. The only book I did not have a chance to finish is Midnight’s Children, but I definitely intend to. I have found a new love for this genre, and I intend to read more works by these authors as my understanding of how their novels work in the larger scheme of literature and the world is captivating. Any of these are recommendable, though I admit they were frustrating at times, and also dry at times. I definitely recommend reading Woolf or Rhys at some point in your life, and Achebe’s novel also cannot be ignored as it is the start of the African literary tradition being showcased to the rest of the world.

If you do choose to read any, please let me know in the comments! I’d be happy to answer any questions you may have or discuss your opinions/thoughts!

Leave a Reply

