The Summer of Work

Hey! Hope you’re all having a wonderful summer!

This summer has been absolutely crazy for me. I have been working two jobs, which translates to zero days off. I took a 5 week summer course (aced it!) which only added to my daily stress. I barely had enough to eat and sleep- so a lot of things have been put on the back burner this summer. I’m not at a healthy weight right now due to my stress-eating and extreme lack of exercise, and my room and car desperately need to be cleaned. This is the first summer where I’ve worked literally every single day (even weekends), and while I’m not balanced, it feels nice to know that I’m finally earning a solid(ish) amount of money so that I am able to pay for the rent on my house for this year at college.

Anyway, this post isn’t about how horribly I’ve handled two jobs and a summer class (plus plenty of housesitting for friends and family), it’s about how I’ve managed to find a few things to focus myself on so that I am able to enjoy my summer of work.

This year I decided to finally fulfill my dream of having a garden. It’s quite small, but it’s amazing. I walk out to it every day and it immediately fills me with pride. Tomatoes of every size, peppers of various colors, zucchini, and cucumbers are filling my kitchen and making me incredibly happy. It’s fresher than what you can buy in the store, and the success of the garden is a constant confidence-booster. Maybe I’m not the skinniest girl or the tannest girl (hello, no beach days!), and maybe I don’t have the nicest nails or the whitest teeth, but I have one kick-ass tiny garden! I already have plans to make it bigger next year and to add more plants (watermelon, anyone?). No, I’m not a garden guru and I don’t have all the answers and google is my best friend, but the satisfaction of walking out there, picking a tomato and putting it in my salad is one of the best feelings I’ve ever had.

In recent months, I’ve also tried to devote more time to myself through relaxing bubble baths. I bought Dr. Teal’s Therapeutic Solutions Foaming Bath Soothe and Sleep with Lavender from Walgreens. I get a bath ready for myself, light a candle, turn off the lights, and leave my phone in my bedroom. The lavender is relaxing and helps me unwind immediately. The epsom salts in the bath help soothe my muscles, and the candle keeps it dim in the room, but not dark. It feels good to know that I’m taking time for myself, away from my phone and other responsibilities.

And today, after a week of house-sitting and cleaning up diarrhea from other people’s dogs (can’t make this stuff up) and working non-stop, I spent my morning off (don’t worry, I’m working the night shift) drinking tea for fun, not just to wake up, and reading Cosmo while sitting by someone else’s pool (housesitting, again). It was relaxing and gave me a chance to recharge- and give me a fresh start with my blog as well!

I hope you will be hearing a lot more from me now as I move into my JUNIOR YEAR of college.

XO-Kass

Leave a Reply

