Reflection

Happy New Year! I can’t believe how quickly this year has passed, just like every other year before that. A new year is like a fresh start. It’s a great time to reflect on the year that’s passed and consider what personal changes should be made for the coming year. This past year I wrote down at least one good thing that happened every day. 365 good things. As I read each of them, it occurred to me that it was not so much all of the good things that happened, but all of the amazing people who shared my experiences. I also reflected on the goals I made for myself: (1) Care about what I look like every day, (2) Get a job, (3) Find something to make me happy every day, (4) Learn sign language, (5) Read at least 1 book every month, (6) Cook 1 new recipe every month. I think I was only successful with numbers 2 and 3, but thats okay…baby steps, right? I think I’ll keep all of these goals, with one exception: replace learning sign language with staying under 140 pounds. The key to being successful with these goals is to find a way to remind myself of them. I definitely believe that I can accomplish these, and that they’ll make me happier than I am right now. Reflection is a necessary aspect of success and guides us through change. Life is in a constant state of change, so a new year is an opportunity to remember everything that brought you to where you are right now. 

 

Leave a Reply

