My First Crockpot Dinner

When I first decided to create a blog, I knew I wanted to post recipes all the time to share them with my followers. I love to cook, experiment with food, and expand my abilities in the kitchen. So today I will share my first recipe on the blog, and, coincidentally, it will be of my first crockpot (slow-cooker) meal! I was really excited to use the crockpot for the first time and I thought I had found a great recipe that my whole family would enjoy, and I was right! It dawned on me that being able to use a crockpot will be one of the more useful kitchen techniques for school next year because it is much less hands-on than other methods of cooking, and will take up less of my time- which will hopefully be spent studying!

Without further ado, here is the Sausage Gumbo recipe which I found (and tweaked, of course) in  Simple 1-2-3 Slow Cooker:

Ingredients: Chicken Sausage- 6 pieces; Diced Tomatoes, undrained- 1 can (14 1/2 ounces); Chicken Broth- 1 cup; Flour- 1/4 cup; Olive Oil- 2 tablespoons; Onion- 1 medium, diced; Green Bell Pepper- 1 1/2, diced; Celery- 2 ribs, chopped; Carrot- 1 1/2, peeled & chopped; Dried Oregano- 2 teaspoons; Dried Thyme- 2 teaspoons; Red Pepper Flakes- 1/8 teaspoon; Fresh Basil- chopped, Rice

*Please keep in mind that this recipe is very versatile, and the vegetables can be adjusted according to personal preference. In addition, the original recipe called for polish sausage (kielbasa), but I personally prefer chicken sausage. Another aspect that made this recipe particularly easy is the fact that I used Uncle Ben’s 90 Second Instant Rice- it’s easy and tastes great!

Directions:

1. Combine tomatoes (with juice), broth, flour, oil, sausage, onion, bell pepper, celery, carrot, oregano, thyme, red pepper flakes, and basil in slow cooker.

2. Cook on LOW 4 1/2 to 5 hours.

3. Serve over rice.

Easy enough, right? And let me tell you, it was delicious! My family devoured it and I was really proud of myself! I will definitely be using the crockpot in the future because it was easy and tasty!

This is everything in the crockpot, before cooking:

Image

 

This is in the crockpot after cooking:

Image

 

And this is the final result in a bowl with rice!

Image

 

I hope you enjoy this recipe and find your own ways to adjust the recipe to fit your own style! If you have any crockpot recipes of your own that you’d like to share, please feel free, I love to try new things!

Leave a Reply

