I run for me.

I woke up about two hours later than usual today with a headache and no inspiration to run. All I wanted to do was crawl back into bed, shut my eyes, and pretend the world didn’t exist. Instead, I ran 5 and half miles. By the end of my first mile, my headache was gone and I was feeling strong and in control. I was pleasantly surprised at the significant difference I made in my morning and my day. While I was running, I realized that people run for a lot of different reasons: to get in shape, to drop a pant size, to reach their goal of running a marathon, but I run for me. I put myself first, something that’s new for me, and it is crazy how much of a positive affect that has had on my life. For the first time this morning, I realized that I truly love my body. I am beautiful and healthy, and, most importantly, I am happy.

2 thoughts on “I run for me.

Leave a Reply

